AJL offers four annual literary prizes as a member awards for libraries seeking accreditation, to individuals who have made significant contributions to AJL the field of Judiaca Librarianship, and to individutals who would like to attend the annual conference.

Literary Awards:

Winning authors and illustrators receive accolades and honoraria at the Association’s annual conference. AJL’s awards draw attention to the best in Jewish literature and scholarship each year, encouraging publication and purchase of high-quality Jewish writing.

The Sydney Taylor Book Award for children’s and teen literature

The Sydney Taylor Manuscript Award for unpublished manuscripts targeting ages 8-13

The Judaica Reference & Bibliography Awards for academic scholarship

The AJL Jewish Fiction Award for adult readers

Merit Awards:

See the merit awards page or the indivual award page for more information about the awards and their requirements.

Accreditation is awarded to member libraries in the SSC Division that meet the high standards set by AJL. 

Fanny Goldstein Merit Award 
The Fanny Goldstein Merit Award, named for the librarian, social activist and founder of National Jewish Book Month, is bestowed in recognition of loyal and ongoing contributions to the Association and to the profession of Jewish librarianship. 

Awards For Conference Attendence

There are several different ways to get assistance for attending our annual conference. Please see the Conference support page.

Student Scholarship

Student Scholarship The Association of Jewish Libraries awards an annual scholarship to a promising student with a history of participating in Judaic studies or libraries, accepted into or attending an accredited graduate school of library and information science.